September 25 Tuesday 7:29:14 PM

Kochi among central government's first list of 20 'smart cities'

Union Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday announced the first list of 20 cities to be developed as smart cities.

Kochi, the commercial capital of the state of Kerala, has been featured among the 20 cities along with New Delhi and Chennai.

This is the first phase of the NDA government's ambitious 'Smart cities' project. He said that the Smart City plans had been prepared by the Urban Local Bodies and the States. The selected cities will be equipped with basic infrastructure, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity and e-governance mechanisms.

Following is the list of 20 smart cities:

1. Bhubaneswar
2. Pune
3. Jaipur
4. Surat
5. Kochi
6. Ahmedabad
7. Jabalpur
8. Vishakapatnam
9. Sholapur
10. Davangere
11. Indore
12. NDMC
13. Coimbatore
14. Kakinada
15. Belagavi
16. Udaipur
17. Guwahati
18. Chennai
19. Ludhiana
20. Bhopal

12/31/2017 | 460